The Organization of Islamic Cooperation (OIC) was established following a summit held in Rabat, Kingdom of Morocco, on September 25, 1969. The organization has permanent representations at the United Nations (UN) and the European Union (EU). The official languages of the OIC are English, French, and Arabic. The headquarters of the organization is located in Jeddah, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. During the 38th session of the Council of Foreign Ministers (CFM) on June 28, 2011, in Astana, Republic of Kazakhstan, the organization received its current name - the Organization of Islamic Cooperation. The modern logo was also presented at the same meeting.

Subsidiary organisations:

  • Center for Statistical, Economic and Social Research and Training of Islamic Countries, Ankara, Turkey;
  • Research Center for Islamic History, Art and Culture (IRCICA), Istanbul, Turkey;
  • Islamic Technological University of the Organization of Islamic Cooperation, Dhaka, Bangladesh;
  • Islamic Development Trade Center, Casablanca, Morocco;
  • Islamic Academy of Fiqh, Jeddah, Saudi Arabia;
  • Islamic Network Islamiyat, located in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia and Pakistan;
  • Executive Bureau of the Islamic Solidarity Fund and its Waqfs, located in Jeddah, Saudi Arabia;
  • Islamic University in Niger, Say, Niger;
  • Islamic University in Uganda, Mbale, Uganda.

The organization includes:

  • Secretary-General.
    The Secretary-General is elected by the Council of Foreign Ministers of member countries for a term of five years, with the possibility of re-election. The Secretary-General is elected from among the citizens of member states in accordance with the principles of fair geographical distribution, rotation, and equal opportunities for all member states, taking into account competence, integrity, and experience.
  • Islamic summit.
    The largest meeting attended by heads of state and government representatives. The Islamic Summit is held to make common political decisions and discuss issues related to the implementation of the objectives outlined in the OIC Charter. In addition, other issues of interest to the Ummah and member states are also considered.
  • Islamic Conference of Foreign Ministers.
    The conference is held annually to review the report on the results of implementing the policies adopted at the highest level by the participating countries.
  • Permanent Secretariat.
    The Secretariat is the executive body of the OIC, responsible for implementing decisions made by the Secretary-General and the Islamic Conference of Foreign Ministers. Since November 28, 2020, the Secretary-General of the OIC is Hussein Ibrahim Taha (Republic of Chad).

Specialised institutions:

  • Islamic Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (ISESCO), Rabat, Morocco.
  • Islamic States Broadcasting Organization (ISBO) and International Islamic Information Agency (IIIA), Jeddah, Saudi Arabia.

Affiliated institutions:

  • Islamic Chamber of Commerce and Industry (ICCI), located in Karachi, Pakistan;
  • Organization of Islamic Capitals and Cities (OICC), Jeddah, Saudi Arabia.
  • Islamic Solidarity Games Federation (ISGF), Riyadh, Saudi Arabia.
  • World Federation of International Arab-Islamic Schools (WFIAS), Jeddah, Saudi Arabia.
  • Islamic Shipowners Association (ISA), Jeddah, Saudi Arabia.
  • Youth Forum of the Islamic Conference for Dialogue and Cooperation (YFICDC), Istanbul, Turkey.
  • International Union of Muslim Scouts (IUMS), Jeddah, Saudi Arabia.
  • Federation of Consultants from Islamic Countries (FCIC), Istanbul, Turkey.
  • World Islamic Academy of Sciences (WIAS), Amman, Jordan.
  • General Council for Islamic Banks and Financial Institutions (GCIBFI), Manama, Bahrain.
  • OIC Computer Emergency Response Team (OIC-CERT).
  • Institute of Standards and Metrology of Islamic Countries (ISMIC), Istanbul, Turkey.
  • International Islamic University Malaysia (IIUM), Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.
  • Association of Tax Authorities of OIC (ATAOIC), Khartoum, Sudan.
  • Real Estate Union of OIC (REU-OIC), Djibouti City, Djibouti.
  • OIC Media Forum (OMF-OIC), Ankara, Turkey.
  • World Islamic Economic Forum (WIEF), located in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

Member states of the OIC:

  • Azerbaijan
  • Albania
  • Algeria
  • Afghanistan
  • Bangladesh
  • Bahrain
  • Бенин
  • Бруней
  • Буркина Фасо
  • Габон
  • Гайана
  • Гамбия
  • Гвинея
  • Гвинея-Бисау
  • Джибути
  • Египет
  • Индонезия
  • Иордания
  • Ирак
  • Иран
  • Йемен
  • Казахстан
  • Катар
  • Камерун
  • Киргизия
  • Коморы
  • Кот-д'Ивуар
  • Кувейт
  • Lebanon
  • Libya
  • Mauritania
  • Malaysia
  • Mali
  • Maldives
  • Марокко
  • Мозамбик
  • Нигер
  • Нигерия
  • ОАЭ
  • Оман
  • Пакистан
  • Палестинская автономия
  • Саудовская аравия
  • Сенегал
  • Сомали
  • Судан
  • Суринам
  • Сьерра-Леоне
  • Таджикистан
  • Того
  • Тунис
  • Туркмения
  • Турция
  • Уганда
  • Узбекистан
  • Чад


  • Russia
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Thailand
  • Northern Cyprus
  • The Central African Republic